Being a violinist is not a good long term career (for me)

Photo by Kazuo ota on Unsplash

Being a violinist is not a good long term career (for me)

Why I shifted to software and web development

Β·

7 min read

As I think about the things I want to do, have, and achieve with my life, and the kind of life I want to provide for my family, it is clear to me that staying in my violin career won't enable me to reach my goals.

Please know that everything I am writing here is all based on my 13 years experience as a professional musician living in a third-world country where classical music Is far from being appreciated, and far from a career that can give you and your family a good life. πŸ˜‚

rendy-novantino-7cLEpgBHbLo-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Rendy Novantino on Unsplash

1. Income πŸ’΅

First, the income is only good IF you have many performances and you are with an in-demand group of performers. In the events industry here in PH, it is the norm that a musician gets paid per event(I guess this is also the same in other countries), and not on a monthly basis like a salary when you have a regular job because although you have a "group", you're not really employed by that group or anybody. You're basically a "freelancer", or a "gig musician".

I think the only musicians I know who have a salary are those working in a government orchestra or a marching band in the city hall(still under the government), or a private orchestra. When it comes to private groups, I know an orchestra in Manila but you can't expect much with the salary.

Now how much do musicians get per gig?

The answer to that question is...

It depends. Rates vary from the kind of group you perform with, the location of the event, the kind of event, etc. but, I have heard of bars paying musicians around P500(around $10 US) per night. I also have played with groups that pay P2000(around $40) - P10,000(around$200 US)/event so there are many factors to consider.

The number of gigs you need so you have enough to pay the rent, the bills, and buy groceries depends on the rate you get per gig. For example in the groups I play with now, a full event in manila costs P5000($100). My cost of living here in Makati usually is around P35,000($700)/month so I need about 7 gigs in a month to be able to afford the monthly bills and food.

If I belong to a different group that pays P2300($46) per gig, then I would need to have around 15 gigs a month. How will I get this amount of gigs consistently every month for the rest of my career? plus you have to consider many factors too like the value of money, inflation, a new child, college tuition, your parents.. πŸ˜‚ I won't be able to afford living here in Makati.

maarten-van-den-heuvel-_pc8aMbI9UQ-unsplash.jpg Photo by Maarten van den Heuvel on Unsplash

2. Competition βš”

The competition to get in a group that pays well like my string quartet that plays for events is crazy high. There are only a few good-paying groups but there are plenty of good musicians aiming to get in the same groups and get a position there.

Fortunately, I was able to become part of an in-demand string quartet in the country so, in a way, I have more gigs, also better pay than my other colleagues and string player friends.

But for those who are just starting their career or are already a professional but are yet to find employment, this is a reality you have to swallow. You have to bring something with you, maybe your character, work ethic, mastery of your instrument, or maybe a sense of humor so you will be unique among all the other musicians and get a higher chance of being chosen.

elcarito-ycEXIYZjiTk-unsplash.jpg Photo by elCarito on Unsplash

3. Can I still do this when I'm 60 or older? πŸ‘΄πŸ»

The answer is no. I don't see myself performing at 60. In fact, I rarely see senior violinists still performing or doing gigs. Also, my fingers, I think, won't be able to function that well when I reach that age. Hehe

Of course, I would still love to perform for the sake of art and self-satisfaction I guess but at that age, performing for money is something id really don't want to do.

haseeb-jamil-Zr2JUrlbY08-unsplash.jpg Photo by Haseeb Jamil on Unsplash

4. Benefits πŸ’”

This is one of the things that concerns me the most. If you are a "gig" musician, most likely you/re:

  • have NO monthly salary
  • have NO SSS (Social Security System) or any retirement benefit
  • have NO life insurance
  • have NO health insurance
  • can easily be replaced by other musicians
  • talent fee per gig greatly depends on the group you are with at that time
  • have NO assurance when you'll get another gig

If you want things like insurance or SSSβ€”I think it's 401k in the USβ€”or any form of retirement fund/benefits, you will have to do that or get those on your own. Most likely, your group won't provide any benefit for you.

If you have unlimited flow of sure scheduled performances and the pay is good then it's okay to get one yourself right? but if you don't, it's really a concern and a continuous problem for you because you also have other bills to pay and you don't know when you will get another gig.

If you're a breadwinner, you are always thinking about your family, how to give them the best life possible, and to be a good provider for them.

You also think about your family's future. What happens when you are old and gray? How will you and your family survive if you are not able to work anymore? Are you going to depend on your children to feed you and pay for your expenses?

While this is sometimes the case for some families, I certainly would not want that to happen to me when the time comes.

nik-shuliahin-BuNWp1bL0nc-unsplash.jpg Photo by Nik Shuliahin on Unsplash

5. They can easily replace you πŸ’€

Yes, you have heard that right. Or.. maybe you read that right lol πŸ˜‚. Due to the fact that the competition is high, meaning there are so many good musicians out there, the groups can just decide to replace you.

Around last year, when the events were finally allowed again, my friend a violinist, due to his decision to not get vaccinated yet, was suddenly replaced by the group he has been working and performing with for many many years.

Just like that, even after all the years of service, they dropped him. Not all events here in my country require vaccinated musicians. I mean in my string quartet, 3 of us chose to wait and only one member got the shot, but still, we are able to make a living as performers. That group chose to replace him and it’s really sad.

That friend of mine got depressed because he has no more income anymore. I heard he was not able to pay for his car so it was pulled by the bank. When I saw him recently, he was thin and you can really see it on his face that he was really affected by what happened to him. 😒

arif-riyanto-G1N9kDHqBrQ-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Arif Riyanto on Unsplash

Conclusion

I am not saying that all musicians should quit the industry. We want musicians there, and we need musicians. This of course is not for everybody. There are people who are content and happy with what they get as musicians for events and they have their own strategies to live comfortably and enjoy life. That's great. But there are also people who think like me and want something more or something else.

There's no right or wrong answer I guess. The important thing is that we do what we want to do. I wanted to become a software engineer/developer so I did and I am looking forward to a better future.

All the best to all musicians and everyone thinking of shifting to the tech industry. You can do it!

Β